Uttar Pradesh all set for ‘mini elections’

May 18th, 2009 - 6:03 pm ICT by IANS  

Bharatiya Janata Party Lucknow, May 18 (IANS) After the Lok Sabha elections, Uttar Pradesh is all set to witness another political battle, as byelections will have to be held in 10 assembly constituencies where seven sitting legislators were elected to parliament while the other three resigned to contest.
The two prominent winners among the legislators include senior Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) leader Lalji Tandon and Samajwadi Party (SP) chief Mulayam Singh Yadav.

Tandon, who won the Lucknow seat, represents the Lucknow West assembly seat, while Yadav, who won the Mainpuri seat, represented the Bharthana assembly seat in Etawah district.

Similarly, SP’s Mithlesh Kumar, who represents Powayan assembly seat, won from the Shahjahanpur seat and the Bahujan Samaj Party’s (BSP) Dhananjay Singh, a legislator from the Rari assembly seat, won the Jaunpur seat.

Congress’ Pradeep Aditya Jain, a legislator from the Jhansi assembly seat, has got elected from the Jhansi seat, while the party’s R.P.N. Singh, legislator from the Padrauna assembly seat, won the Kushinagar seat.

Kadir Rana, a legislator of the Rashtriya Lok Dal (RLD) from the Morna assembly seat, won the Muzaffarnagar seat.

The three legislators who had resigned include Rajiv Channa, Gauri Shankar and Dhaniram Verma.

Channa, who was a BJP legislator from Moradabad (West) assembly seat, resigned after he was given a ticket by the BSP to contest the Lok Sabha polls from the Moradabad constituency.

Gauri Shankar, a SP legislator from the Malihabad assembly seat, also resigned when he was given a Lok Sabha ticket by the BSP from Etawah parliamentary seat.

Verma, who was an SP legislator from the Kannauj assembly seat, also resigned after the BSP made his son, Mahesh Verma its candidate from Kannauj.

Related Stories

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Politics |