TRS workers beat up party candidate, attack MP’s house

March 27th, 2009 - 11:33 pm ICT by IANS  

Hyderabad, March 27 (IANS) Angry over their leaders being denied the party tickets, activists of the Telangana Rashtra Samiti (TRS) Friday beat up the party candidate from Secunderabad Lok Sabha seat and attacked the house of MP Vinod Kumar in Warangal town.
Alleging that S. Venkat Reddy, the candidate from Secunderabad, had got the ticket by paying huge amounts of money to the party leadership, TRS workers roughed him up outside Telangana Bhavan, the TRS headquarters, here.

TRS workers alleged that Venkat Reddy paid Rs.10 crore to get the ticket and that the party leadership ignored the loyal leaders who were working hard to strengthen the party. The incident led to tension in the area.

In another incident, TRS workers, demanding the ticket to their leader N. Venkateshwarlu from Bhupalpally assembly constituency, attacked the house of Hanamkonda MP Vinod Kumar in Warangal town.

The protesters ransacked the house, causing extensive damage to it. However, the MP was not present in the house at the time.

The attack took place after TRS president K. Chandrasekhara Rao changed the candidates for two assembly constituencies in Warangal district.

Madhusudhan Chary, who was earlier declared as candidate from Parakal, was shifted to Bhupalapally. Bhiskhapati has been nominated from Parakal.

Vinod Kumar was earlier announced as the candidate for Bhupalapally, but his name did not figure in the list. He is likely to contest from Hanamkonda Lok Sabha seat.

Meanwhile, the TRS announced candidates for four Lok Sabha seats - G.S. Netakani (Pedapalli-SC), G.B. Madiga (Nagarkurnool-SC), Syed Yousuf Ali (Zaheerabad) and Venkat Reddy (Secunderabad).

TRS, a constituent of the TDP-led four-party grand alliance, also declared that it would contest nine Lok Sabha seats. The other Lok Sabha seats it would contest are Karimnagar, Warangal (SC), Nizamabad, Medak and Mahboobnagar.

The party also named five candidates for the assembly seats. With this, it has so far announced candidates for 41 assembly seats out of 48 allotted to it by Telugu Desam Party (TDP) under the seat sharing agreement.

In another development, the Communist Party of India-Marxist (CPI-M), also a party of the grand alliance, announced candidates for two Lok Sabha and 13 assembly seats. The party’s floor leader in the assembly N. Narsimaiah will contest from newly-created Bhongir Lok Sabha seat while Babu Rao, the sitting MP, has been moved to Araku constituency, which has been created in place of Bhadrachalam.

CPI-M leaders said they would name candidates for the remaining seven assembly seats after talks with the other alliance partners.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Politics |