TRS legislators in Andhra Pradesh resign

March 4th, 2008 - 12:36 pm ICT by admin  

Hyderabad, March 4 (IANS) A day after its MPs quit the Lok Sabha, all 16 legislators of the Telangana Rashtra Samiti (TRS) Tuesday resigned from the Andhra Pradesh assembly to protest the delay in granting statehood to Telangana region. The TRS legislators submitted their resignations to Speaker K.R. Suresh Reddy in the house.

Making brief submissions before leaving the house, they hit out at the ruling Congress party and alleged that it betrayed the people of the region by going back on its promise to carve out separate state.

The three TRS members of the legislative council will put in their papers later in the day.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Politics |