TRS leads in four constituencies

March 21st, 2012 - 11:12 am ICT by IANS  

Telangana Hyderabad, March 21 (IANS) Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) Wednesday established early leads on four assembly seats while YSR Congress party is leading in Kovur, the only seat it contested.

Former minister and independent candidate N. Janardhana Reddy was ahead of his rivals in Nagarkurnool while the ruling Congress is leading in Mahabubnagar.

The by-elections to seven assembly seats, six of them in Telangana, were held Sunday. The counting of votes began amid tight security at 8 a.m. Wednesday.

TRS established early leads over ruling Congress party and main opposition Telugu Desam Party (TDP) in Kamareddy, Kollapur, Adilabad and Station Ghanpur constituencies.

The by-elections were a result of vacancies that arose due to the resignations of two legislators of the Congress party and four rebels of the TDP. The Congress party is leading in Mahabubnagar, where the bypoll was necessitated by the death of one independent legislator, who was associate member of Congress party.

Two legislators each of Congress and TDP had resigned on Telangana issue and contested as TRS candidates this time. Janardhana Reddy too quit TDP on a separate issue and contested as an independent supported by TRS.

Another TRS rebel N. Prasanna Kumar Reddy contested as YSR Congress party candidate in Kovur in Nellore district. The fledgling party stayed away from by-elections in Telangana.

Related Stories

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Politics |