TRS chief wins, TDP’s Yerran Naidu loses

May 16th, 2009 - 9:11 pm ICT by IANS  

Hyderabad, May 16 (IANS) Telangana Rashtra Samiti (TRS) chief K. Chandrasekhara Rao was again elected to Lok Sabha Saturday but senior leader of Telugu Desam Party K. Yerran Naidu suffered a surprising defeat.
KCR, as the TRS chief is popularly known, won the Mahabubnagar Lok Sabha seat, defeating D. Vittal Rao of Congress party by 19,961 votes. TRS wrested the seat from the Congress.

In 2004, the former central minister was elected from Karimnagar constituency. He was re-elected from the same constituency in 2007 and 2008 by-elections.

Yerran Naidu, who was TDP’s leader in the Lok Sabha, lost in Srikakulam constituency. He was defeated by Congress party’s K. Kruparani.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Politics |