Three Gujarat BJP members file papers for Rajya Sabha

March 15th, 2008 - 12:48 am ICT by admin  

A file-photo of Narendra Modi

Ahmedabad, March 14 (IANS) Three Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) candidates from Gujarat filed their nomination papers for Rajya Sabha seats Friday in the office of state Assembly Secretary D.N. Patel. Scores of BJP workers were present when BJP’s state president Parsottambhai Rupala, Natubhai Thakore and Bharatsinh Parmar submitted their papers.

The fourth seat is with the Congress. The party is re-nominating its incumbent Alkaben Kshatriya, who will be filing her nominations Saturday, the last day for nominations.

All the four would be elected unopposed.

Chief Minister Narendra Modi was present along with Finance Minister Vajubhai Vala, Water Supply and Water Resources Minister Nitinkumar Patel, Agriculture Minister Dilipbhai Sanghani and Rajya Sabha member Vijaybhai Rupani and several office-bearers.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Politics |