TDP seeks disqualification of two of its MPs

July 28th, 2008 - 4:58 pm ICT by IANS  

A file-photo of Somnath Chatterjee

Hyderabad, July 28 (IANS) The Telugu Desam Party (TDP) has urged Lok Sabha Speaker Somnath Chatterjee to disqualify two of its MPs for defying the party whip during the trust vote last week. Manda Jagannatham and D.K. Adikeshavulu Naidu had defied the party whip by voting in favour of the Congress-led United Progressive Alliance (UPA) government July 22. The party has already expelled both the MPs.

TDP parliamentary party leader K. Yerran Naidu wrote to the speaker seeking disqualification of the two MPs, whose cross voting embarrassed TDP chief N. Chandrababu Naidu, who was in the forefront of the efforts to defeat the motion of confidence moved by Prime Minister Manmohan Singh.

Naidu informed the speaker that both MPs were already expelled from the party for defying the whip.

Jagannatham, who represents Nagarkurnool constituency, was expelled from the party a day after the voting while Adikeshavulu Naidu was served show cause notice as his vote was declared invalid on technical grounds.

The Chittoor MP was also expelled by the TDP July 23 after the inquiries with Lok Sabha secretariat revealed that he had cast his vote in favour of the government.

While Jagannatham is set to join the Congress, Adikeshavulu Naidu is likely to join the new party to be launched by Telugu film actor Chiranjeevi next month.

The Telangana Rashtra Samiti (TRS) has already written to the speaker seeking disqualification of expelled MP A. Narendra for defying the party whip. Narendra, who backed the trust motion, was expelled from the party last year for his alleged involvement in a human smuggling scandal.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Politics |