TDP members suspended for day from Andhra assembly again

March 4th, 2008 - 11:45 pm ICT by admin  

Hyderabad, March 4 (IANS) Legislators of the main opposition Telugu Desam Party (TDP) were suspended from the Andhra Pradesh assembly for the second consecutive day Tuesday for stalling the proceedings of the house. Speaker K.R. Suresh Reddy suspended TDP chief N. Chandrababu Naidu and 21 party members for the day when they stalled the proceedings of the house to protest the suspension of their colleague N. Janardhan Reddy. The former minister wanted to raise a supplementary during question hour.

The speaker took strong exception to Janardhan Reddy’s behaviour in the house and suspended him. Other TDP legislators lodged their protest, stalled the proceedings and demanded that the suspension be revoked.

Minister for Legislative Affairs K. Rosaiah then moved a resolution for suspension of all other TDP members for the day and it was passed with a voice vote.

TDP has 45 members in the 294-member assembly.

Twenty-three TDP legislators were suspended Monday when they stalled the house to demand an immediate debate on the auction of government lands in and around Hyderabad.

This is the third time during the current budget session that TDP members have been suspended. Twenty-five TDP legislators were suspended Feb 25 when they stalled the house demanding that the speaker revoke the suspension of their colleague E. Dayakar Rao for his rude behaviour.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Politics |