Six Orissa candidates declare nil assets

April 12th, 2009 - 3:47 pm ICT by IANS  

Bahujan Samaj Party Bhubaneswar, April 12 (IANS) At least six candidates contesting the Lok Sabha elections in Orissa have disclosed nil assets, a voluntary body Orissa Election Watch (OEW) said Sunday.
The poorest candidates contesting elections are Jerum Dungdung, Debashis Ranjan Dash, Debananda Singh, Pravakahr Nayak, Bibhuti Bhusan Majhi and Akhya Kumar Mohanty, OEW coordinator Ranjan Mohanty said.

They are contesting from Sundergarh, Balasore, Cuttack, Kendrapada, Jagatsinghpur and Bhubaneswar Lok Sabha constituencies respectively.

While Dungdung, Majhi, and Mohanty are fighting elections on Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) tickets, Dash is contesting from Samrudha Odisha, a regional party. Singh and Nayak are vying as independents.

OEW has released the list of the poorest candidates compiling the affidavits filed by them with their nomination papers.

At least 157 candidates are testing their luck for the state’s 21 Lok Sabha seats. The state has some 27,160,572 voters.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Politics |