Six ministers in Congress’ list of 25 for Lok Sabha polls (Lead)

March 12th, 2009 - 11:03 pm ICT by IANS  

New Delhi, March 12 (IANS) The Congress Thursday released a list of 25 candidates, including cabinet ministers Kamal Nath and Sontosh Mohan Dev, and four ministers of state, for the Lok Sabha polls in three states and one union territory.
The list also figures controversial Assam MP Moni Kumar Subba, whose nationality had been questioned.

The Congress announced 12 candidates for Madhya Pradesh, and also named 11 contestants from Assam and one each for Chandigarh and Nagaland.

Sitting MP and Commerce and Industry Minister Kamal Nath would be contesting from the Chhindwara constituency in Madhya Pradesh, Congress spokesperson Manish Tewari told reporters.

Others in the list are Heavy Industries Minister Sontosh Mohan Dev, ministers of state Pawan Kumar Bansal (finance), B.K. Handique (chemicals and fertilizers), Kantilal Bhuria (agriculture) and Jyotiraditya Scindia (communications and IT).

Scindia has been renominated for Guna constituency in Madhya Pradesh while Bhuria will be contesting from Ratlam in the same state.

Madhya Pradesh will elect 29 MPs to the 15th Lok Sabha in two-phase polls on April 23 and April 30.

In Assam that has 14 Lok Sabha constituencies, Dev will contest from Silchar constituency.

Handique has been given ticket to contest from Jorhat constituency.

Sitting MP Lalit Mohan Suklabaidya and Dip Gogoi would be contesting from Karimganj and Kaliabor constituency respectively, Tewari said.

Moni Kumar Subba, the controversial MP from Assam whose nationality has been mired in controversy, has been renominated to contest from Tezpur constituency.

During the 12th Lok Sabha elections, Subba in his nomination papers recorded his place of birth as Tezpur, Assam, his date of birth as March 16, 1951. But his dossier during the current 14th Lok Sabha Subba shows his place of birth as Dabgram (Darjeeling district) in West Bengal.

The discrepancies created doubts over Subba’s antecedents.

From Barpeta and Gauhati seats, the party has nominated Ismail Hussain and Capt. Robil Bordoloi in place of sitting MPs A.F. Golam Osmani and Kirip Chaliha.

Assam will vote on April 16 and April 23.

Minister Bansal has been re-nominated from Chandigarh constituency, where voting will take place May 13.

In Nagaland, the Congress has fielded K.A. Sangtam. The elections in the state will be held April 16.

Related Stories

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Politics |