Six elected to Rajya Sabha from Tamil Nadu

March 19th, 2008 - 6:39 pm ICT by admin  

Chennai, March 19 (IANS) All the six candidates who had filed nominations to the Rajya Sabha elections here were declared elected unopposed by state assembly secretary M. Selvaraj Wednesday. Since the number of candidates were the same as the number of vacancies, there was no voting.

Union Minister of State G.K. Vasan, Congress spokesperson Jayanthi Natarajan, A.A. Jinnah, Vasanthi Stanley (Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam), T.K. Rengarajan (Communist Party of India - Marxist) and A. Balaganga (All India Anna DMK) were the six declared elected.

Outgoing MP and senior advocate N. Jothi had quit the AIADMK following the party’s refusal to re-nominate him.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Politics |