Sikkim Democratic Front set to sweep back to power (Lead)

May 16th, 2009 - 1:38 pm ICT by IANS  

Gangtok, May 16 (IANS) Sikkim Chief Minister Pawan Chamling was set for a fourth term with his Sikkim Democratic Front (SDF) leading as the votes cast for the assembly and the lone Lok Sabha seat were being counted.
Counting began at 8 a.m. for 12 assembly constituencies in the Sikkim East district, three constituencies in North Sikkim, nine constituencies in Sikkim West and nine constituencies in Sikkim South.

By 11 a.m., 10 assembly results were declared - all in favour of the SDF. The party candidate P.D. Rai also bagged the state’s lone Lok Sabha seat, defeating K.N. Upreti of the Congress by a margin of over 3,000 votes.

The chief minister, who contested the assembly polls from Poklok-Kamrang and Namchi-Singhithang, won both the seats of South Sikkim with a margin of over 2,000 votes.

SDF candidate Aam Prasad Sharma defeated Congress state unit president N.B. Bhandari by a margin of 1,000 votes to wrest the the Singtam-Khamdong assembly seat in East Sikkim.

In the same district, the West Pendam constituency was won by the SDF’s Neeru Sewa, who defeated Congress candidate Jagdish Cintury by over 1,000 votes. The Rhenock and Chujachen seats were wrested by the SDF’s Bhim Dungel and Puran Gurung respectively.

In North Sikkim, T.T. Bhutia of the SDF bagged the Kabi-Lungchok constituency, beating Ugen Bhutia of the Congress. SDF candidate Sonam Gyatso Lepcha defeated Congress nominee Norden Tshering to grab the Dzongu constituency.

In West Sikkim, Barfung constituency was won by Dawcho Lepcha of the SDF against Aden Tshering of the Congress. SDF’s Chandra Maya Subba beat Laxuman Gurung of the Congress in Dentam seat.

Related Stories

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Politics |