Shiv Sena to vote against UPA

July 20th, 2008 - 12:09 am ICT by IANS  

A file-photo of Manmohan Singh

Mumbai, July 19 (IANS) The Shiv Sena, a constituent of the opposition National Democratic Alliance (NDA), Saturday decided to vote against the United Progressive Alliance (UPA) government of Prime Minister Manmohan Singh in Tuesday’s trust vote in parliament. The decision came after a nearly two-hour-long meeting here attended by Sena chief Bal Thackeray, executive president Udhav Thackeray and NDA general secretary Gopinath Munde. Eleven of the Sena’s 12 MPs attended the meeting, which extended till late evening.

Sena leader in the Lok Sabha Anant Geete said the party would vote against the Congress-led UPA government.

“This government must go. This is what Bal Thackeray said,” he told reporters after the meeting.

The party would issue a whip to this effect to all its MPs Sunday, he added.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Politics |