Shiv Sena names journalist, industrialist for Rajya Sabha seats

March 11th, 2008 - 12:02 am ICT by admin  

Mumbai, March 10 (IANS) The Shiv Sena Monday named journalist Bharat Kumar Raut and industrialist Rajkumar Dhoot as its candidates for the ensuing biennial elections to the Rajya Sabha. Raut is the executive editor of Maharashtra Times, a Marathi daily published by the Times of India Group.

Dhoot, a director with the consumer electronics major Videocon Group, is a sitting Shiv Sena member who has been re-nominated.

Raut will replace retiring member Eknath Thakur, a former banker and academician.

This will be the fourth time the Shiv Sena has nominated a journalist for a prestigious Rajya Sabha seat.

Earlier, party chief Bal Thackeray - a former newspaper cartoonist - had nominated Pritish Nandy, Sanjay Nirupam (now with the Congress) and Sanjay Raut to the upper house of parliament.

The Congress is expected to re-nominate two of its central ministers - Petroleum Minister Murli Deora and Minister of State in Prime Minister’s Office Prithviraj Chavan.

The Nationalist Congress Party has already announced the candidature of Prof. Janardhan Waghmare and taxation expert Y.P. Trivedi.

There are a total of seven vacancies in Maharashtra, including two each from the Congress, the NCP and the Shiv Sena, and one from the BJP.

The sitting members who are retiring include Deora, Chavan, former state governor P. C. Alexander, BJP leader Ved Prakash Goyal, Thakur, Dhoot and Datta Meghe.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Politics |