Shiv Sena names candidates for legislative council

March 10th, 2008 - 11:50 pm ICT by admin  

Mumbai, March 10 (IANS) The Shiv Sena Monday announced the candidature of Bharatiya Kamgar Sena (BKS) general secretary Kiran Pawaskar for a seat in the Maharashtra Legislative Council. Another sitting member of the party, firebrand leader Neelam Gorhe has been re-nominated.

Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) has nominated Gurunath Kulkarni, Fauzia Khan, Jitendra Awhad, Ram Pandagle and Ramesh Shendge. One seat has been given to its ally, the Republican Party of India, according to NCP sources here.

A total of nine legislative council members from different political parties are retiring April 24. These include Madhukar Sarpotdar, Sudhakar Gangane, Neelam Gorhe, Vinod Tawade, Shivajirao Deshmukh, Sadashiv Pol, Pandurang Phundkar, Jagjitsinh Patil and Sharad Ranpise.

The last date for nominations, which opened Saturday, is March 15 and the elections are slated for March 26.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Politics |