Sanskrit, Tamil, Oriya - MPs take oath in many languages

June 1st, 2009 - 1:01 pm ICT by IANS  

Bharatiya Janata Party New Delhi, June 1 (IANS) The 15th Lok Sabha saw many of the newly-elected MPs take oath Monday in their mother tongue or languages of their choice, with Bharatiya Janata Party’s (BJP) Sumitra Mahajan leading the way by doing so in Sanskrit.
She was followed by Communist Party of India-Marxist (CPI-M) MP Basudev Acharya taking oath in Bengali and Arjun Sethi of the Biju Janata Dal (BJD) in his Oriya. Home Minister P. Chidambaram, who is Congress MP from Sivaganga, followed suit in Tamil, while B.K. Handique, also of the Congress, spoke in Assamese.

Dayanidhi Maran, A. Raja and M.K. Azhagiri, both of the DMK, also took oath in Tamil. Mallikarjun Kharge did so in Kannada and Pawan Kumar Bansal in Punjabi.

Related Stories

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Politics |