Salwa Judum hero, several Congress veterans lose in Chhattisgarh

December 8th, 2008 - 9:02 pm ICT by IANS  

Bharatiya Janata PartyRaipur, Dec 8 (IANS) Chhattisgarh Congress president Dhanendra Sahu, working president Satyanarayan Sharma, Leader of Opposition Mahendra Karma, deputy leader of opposition Bhupesh Baghel and Arun Vora, son of Congress veteran Motilal Vora, were among those whio lost the assembly elections Monday.According to election results declared Monday evening, Sahu lost his Abhanpur seat to Chandrasekhar Sahu of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), a former MP. Sharma lost Nandkumar Sahu (BJP) in the Raipur Rural constituency. Vora lost his Durg City seat to the BJP’s Hemchand Yadav.

Mahendra Karma, credited as the architect of the civil militia movement Salwa Judum, was expecting to score a winning hat-trick from Dantewada, but lost to Bheema Mandavi (BJP). Bhupesh Baghel lost his Patan seat to the BJP’s Vijay Baghel.

Karma and Baghel are known as critics of their senior party colleague and former chief minister Ajit Jogi.

Karma’s defeat in Dantewada, the state’s worst Maoist-insurgency hit area, is significant as human rights groups and even a section of the Congress camp, mainly led by Jogi, were critical of the movement.

The BJP, led by Chief Minister Raman Singh, retained power in Chhattisgarh.

Related Stories

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Politics |