RJD releases list of 26 candidates in Bihar

March 23rd, 2009 - 1:35 pm ICT by IANS  

New Delhi, March 23 (IANS) The Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) Monday released its list of 26 candidates from Bihar with party chief Lalu Prasad contesting from two constituencies in next month’s parliamentary elections.
“We will now contest in 28 out of 40 seats in Bihar as per our seat sharing pact with the Lok Janshakti Party (LJP). We will work to defeat communal forces,” Lalu Prasad told reporters, adding that the decision on two seats was pending.

Lalu Prasad will be contesting from Patliputra and Saran constituencies.

According to the seat sharing arrangement, RJD will contest 28 and the LJP 12 of Bihar’s 40 seats.

Following the failure of seat sharing talks with the RJD-LJP, its key allies in the United Progressive Alliance (UPA), the Congress said it would contest 37 seats in Bihar.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Politics |