Re-poll ordered in five Tamil Nadu constituencies

April 14th, 2011 - 11:37 pm ICT by IANS  

Chennai, April 14 (IANS) The Election Commission Thursday ordered a re-poll Saturday at seven polling booths in five assembly constituencies in Tamil Nadu.

The re-polling was ordered in polling booths falling under Neyveli in Cuddalore district, Killiyoor in Kanyakumari district, Thiruvidaimarudur in Thanjavur district, Arni in Thiruvannamalai district and Bodinaicknaur in Theni district, said a statement from poll panel.

The re-poll in Kanyakumari, Thiruvannamali and Theni districts was due to defective display of total number of votes in the electronic voting machines (EVM), it said.

In Thiruvidaimarurur, the re-poll is due to a boycott by voters due to the wrong placement of polling stations while the re-poll in Neyveli follows damage to the EVMs by unruly elements.

Polling to elect 234 members to the Tamil Nadu assembly was held Wednesday and witnessed an around 78 percent turnout. The results will be declared May 13.

Related Stories

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Politics |