Ramesh, five others set to be elected unopposed to Rajya Sabha

June 5th, 2010 - 4:52 pm ICT by IANS  

Hyderabad, June 6 (IANS) The decks have been cleared for the election of union Environment Minister Jairam Ramesh, former Andhra Pradesh chief minister Nedurumalli Janardhan Reddy and four others to the Rajya Sabha from the state.
The nominations of all six candidates were Saturday found in order during the scrutiny, said legislature secretary and returning office S. Rajasadaram.

Ramesh, Janardhan Reddy, veteran leader V. Hanumantha Rao and former bureaucrat J.D. Seelam, all of the ruling Congress party, and industrialist Y. Sujana Chowdary, chairman of Sujana Group of Companies and G. Sudharani of the main opposition Telugu Desam Party (TDP) Friday filed their nominations.

With only six candidates in fray for as many seats and their papers in order, they are all set to be declared elected unopposed. The returning officer will make an announcement in this regard Monday, the last day for withdrawal of nominations.

Six members of Rajya Sabha, including five from the Congress, retired this month. The elections were scheduled to be held June 14.

Since the Congress party can win four seats, it re-nominated four of five members who retired. However, both the candidates of TDP are first timers for Rajya Sabha.

While deciding to re-nominate four members, Congress ignored many aspirants, including state Congress chief D. Srinivas and former union minister Renuka Choudary.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Politics |