Punjab dissolves all improvement trusts

July 11th, 2012 - 10:18 pm ICT by IANS  

Chandigarh, July 11 (IANS) The Punjab government Wednesday announced the dissolution of all improvement trusts in the state.

A state government spokesman said here that all 28 improvement trusts have been dissolved.

The deputy commissioners have been deputed administrators at the districts headquarters while in sub-divisions, the sub-divisional magistrate (SDM) will be in-charge.

The dissolved improvement trusts were in Abohar, Amritsar, Jalandhar, Ludhiana, Sangrur, Bathinda, Fazilka, Patiala, Phagwara, Fardikot, Pathankot, Rajpura, Kartarpur, Gurdaspur, Hoshiarpur, Khanna, Nangal, Moga, Kapurthala, Malerkotla, Nabha, Batala, Samana, Nawan Shahar, Barnala, Roopnagar, Kotakpura and Tarn Taran.

The improvement trusts have the responsibility of undertaking development works in urban areas of the state.

–Indo-Asian News Service

Related Stories

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Politics |