Polling begins in Tamil Nadu, Puducherry

May 13th, 2009 - 9:46 am ICT by IANS  

P. Chidambaram Chennai, May 13 (IANS) All 39 parliamentary constituency of Tamil Nadu and the lone seat of union territory Puducherry went to the polls Wednesday in the fifth and the final phase of the general elections.
Voting stations opened at 7 a.m. In all, 41.6 million people are eligible to decide the fate of 823 candidates, including 41 women, in Tamil Nadu.

The main candidates are Home Minister P. Chidambaram, union minister Mani Shankar Aiyar and E.V.K.S. Elangovan of the Congress; Dayanidhi Maran, M.K. Azhagiri and T.R. Baalu of the DMK; and MDMK’s Vaiko.

There are 52,175 polling stations in the state. Of them, 4,043 have been declared hyper sensitive and 16,938 as sensitive.

In Puducherry, 760,000 voters are eligible to cast their votes in 852 polling stations. The main fight is between M. Ramadass of the DMK and V. Narayanasamy of the Congress.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Politics |