Poll panel transfers three Uttar Pradesh police officers (Lead)

March 27th, 2009 - 10:25 pm ICT by IANS  

Bahujan Samaj Party New Delhi/Lucknow, March 27 (IANS) The Election Commission Friday transferred three senior police officials in Uttar Pradesh after complaints that they were favouring the ruling Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP).
Complaints were filed against Deputy Inspector General of Police/Senior Superintendent of Police (Gorakhpur) Yogendra Pachauri, Superintendent of Police (Kushinagar) Gyan Singh, and Superintendent of Police (Mainpuri) S.R.S Aditya.

In a statement in New Delhi Friday, the poll panel said: “The EC orders the transfer of SSP Gorakhpur, SP Kushinagar and SP Mainpuri.”

“The step was taken after complaints filed by political parties,” additional chief electoral officer of Uttar Pradesh Umesh Sinha told reporters in Lucknow Friday evening.

According to sources in the parties, who filed these complaints, the officials were favouring Lok Sabha candidates of the BSP.

“The complaint against the officials of Gorakhpur and Kushinagar was filed by our sitting MP Yogi Adityanath as they were extending undue favours to the BSP candidates Vinay shanker Tiwari and Swami Nath Maurya from these two places,” a Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) party source told IANS from Gorakhpur.

The complaint against Aditya was lodged by the Samajwadi Party for favouring BSP candidate Vinay Shakya and also for allegedly harassing the party workers and confiscating the gun licenses of those favouring the party, a Samajwadi Party source told IANS over phone from Mainpuri.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Politics |