Poll panel rejects seven nominations in West Bengal

April 21st, 2009 - 12:14 am ICT by IANS  

Kolkata, April 20 (IANS) With the Election Commission rejecting seven nominations Monday for the second phase of the Lok Sabha elections in West Bengal, 138 candidates are now left in the fray for 17 seats which will go to polls May 7.
As many as 17 candidates, the highest from any seat, are contesting from Howrah.

The final list of candidates for the second phase will be known Tuesday after the withdrawal of nominations.

Meanwhile, a total of 40 nominations were filed for the third and final phase of elections May 13.

Communist Party of India-Marxist (CPI-M) candidates Sujon Chakraborty (Jadavpore) and Samik Lahiri (Diamond Harbour) entered the electoral race Monday.

Related Stories

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Politics |