Poll panel notifies second polling phase in Karnataka

April 2nd, 2009 - 8:38 pm ICT by IANS  

Bangalore, April 2 (IANS) The Election Commission Thursday notified the second phase of polling in Karnataka for the remaining 11 of the 28 parliamentary constituencies that will witness voting April 30, a state poll panel official said.
“We have received the gazette notification from our New Delhi office on the second phase of Lok Sabha elections in the state April 30. With this, the process of filing nomination papers in 11 constituencies begins,” an official told IANS.

In the first phase, polling in 17 constituencies will take place April 23.

“In the second phase, last date for filing nominations is April 9, scrutiny April 11 and last date for withdrawal April 13,” the official added.

About 10.5 million voters are eligible to exercise franchise in the second phase from the following constituencies: Bagalkot, Haveri, Dharwad, Davanagere, Shimoga, Udupi-Chikmagalur, Hassan, Dakshina Kannada, Mandya, Mysore and Chamarajanagar (SC).

The delimitation exercise has led to the formation of Haveri in place of Dharward (South) and clubbing Chikmagalur with Udupi.

Counting is slated for May 16.

Related Stories

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Politics |