Nominations for fourth phase begin in Uttar Pradesh

January 25th, 2012 - 9:12 pm ICT by IANS  

Lucknow, Jan 25 (IANS) The filing of nominations for the fourth phase of assembly elections in Uttar Pradesh began Wednesday.

The fourth phase, which would cover 56 of the state’s 403 assembly constituencies, spread across Lucknow, Rae Bareli, Farrukhabad, Hardoi, Unnao, Prataprarh, Kannauj, Banda, Chitrakoot and Fatehpur districts, would determine the fate of 32 sitting legislators, three ministers and a dozen former ministers.

More than 1.72 crore voters are expected to cast their votes at 18,209 polling booths at 12,821 polling stations where 19,029 electronic voting machines would be used Feb 19.

Several important leaders of different political parties are expected to file their nominations.

Prominent among them are Uttar Pradesh Congress president Rita Bahuguna Joshi, who is a candidate from Lucknow Cantt constituency and Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP) vice president Kalraj Misra, who is in the fray from Lucknow East constituency. Significantly, this is the first direct election that this top BJP leader will ever be contesting.

Besides, Congress leader Pramod Tiwari is all set to once again file his nomination from Rampur Khas in Pratapgarh district — a seat he has been wining at successive elections over the past three decades.

Two heavyweights widely known for their muscle power — Raghuraj Pratap Singh, alias Raja Bhaiya, and one-time Congress rebel Akhilesh Singh — are also in the electoral race from Kunda in Pratapgarh and Rae Bareli assembly seats as independents. Slain dreaded dacoit Dadua’s son Veer Singh would be contesting as a Samajwadi Party nominee from Karvi seat in Chitrakoot district.

The fate of Louis Khurshid, wife of union Law Minister Salman Khurshid, would also be determined during this phase in Farrukhabad.

Gulabi Gang leader Sampat Pal, who has earned wide recognition for providing empowerment to large population of tribal women in Uttar Pradesh’s most backward Bundelkhand region, would also be contesting in this phase as a Congress nominee from Chiitrakoot.

Among the Uttar Pradesh ministers in the fray are Nakul Dubey (urban development) and Anbul Manan (science and technology).

The sons of two prominent Uttar Pradesh politicians will also making their debut into electoral politics during this phase.

They are BJP leader and Lucknow MP Lalji Tandon’s son Ahustosh Tandon, who is BJP nominee for the Lucknow North seat, and former minister and party hopper Naresh Agrawal’s son Nitin Agrawal, who is now the Samajwadi Party candidate for Hardoi Sadar constituency.

Related Stories

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Politics |