Newly-elected TRS legislators take oath

August 2nd, 2010 - 5:20 pm ICT by IANS  

Telangana Hyderabad, Aug 2 (IANS) Eleven legislators of the Telangana Rashtra Samiti (TRS), who were elected in the by-polls last week, Monday took oath as members of the Andhra Pradesh assembly.
Assembly Speaker N. Kirankumar Reddy administered them the oath in the assembly premises. Earlier, the legislators paid tributes to ‘martyrs’ of Telangana at Gun Park in front of the assembly building.

E. Rajender, who was re-elected as the party’s floor leader in the assembly, his deputy T. Harish Rao and others raised slogans of “Jai Telangana” before entering the assembly.

Rajender told reporters that their massive win has proved beyond doubt that the goal of achieving a separate Telangana state is not far away.

All the legislators had quit in February this year demanding separate statehood to Telangana. All 10 legislators of TRS and one each of Telugu Desam Party (TDP) and Bharatiya Janta Party (BJP) had resigned to protest what they called the central government going back on its Dec 9 statement to initiate the process for formation of Telangana state.

All the legislators, who had quit, were re-elected with huge majority. Ch. Ramesh, who quit TDP after he resigned from the assembly, was re-elected on the TRS ticket.

Related Stories

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Politics |