New Sikkim government sworn in

May 20th, 2009 - 3:05 pm ICT by IANS  

Gangtok, May 20 (IANS) The new Sikkim government of Chief Minister Pawan Chamling’s Sikkim Democratic Front (SDF) was sworn in by Governor B.P. Singh here Wednesday. The new cabinet has quite a few fresh faces. Two of the 12 new cabinet ministers are women.
Neeru Sewa and Tilu Gurung became the first women to be inducted as cabinet ministers in the state.

The new 12-member cabinet, sworn in at the Raj Bhawan here, has nine new faces. These include Bhim Dhungel, C.B. Karki, R.B. Subba, N.K. Pradhan, former speaker of the Sikkim Assembly D.N. Thakarpa and Sonam Gyatso Lepcha.

Those who have been ministers in the past are T.T. Bhutia, SDF candidate from Kabi-Tingda constituency, D.B. Thapa, candidate from Upper Tadong, and Chamling himself.

The portfolios were not announced at the swearing-in ceremony.

The SDF wrested all 32 assembly constituencies as well as the lone Lok Sabha seat from the state in the just-concluded polls.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Politics |