Nepal: Constituent Assembly polls at a glance

April 10th, 2008 - 1:36 pm ICT by admin  

Kathmandu, April 10 (IANS) Nepalese elections at a glance: 1769: Gorkha king Prithvi Narayan Shah overruns other principalities and founds the Shah dynasty of rulers of a ‘unified’ Nepal.

1951: King Tribhuvan, present king Gyanendra’s grandfather, pledges to hold a constituent assembly election but never keeps his promise.

1955: Tribhuvan’s son Mahendra becomes king and begins consolidating power.

1959: Mahendra holds first general election.

1960: The king sacks the first elected government of B.P. Koirala. Mahendra bans political parties and begins absolute rule.

1990: New revolt against Mahendra’s successor, King Birendra. The king curtails his power and Nepal gets its fifth constitution.

1994: Prachanda founds the Communist Party of Nepal (Maoist).

1996: Maoists start a People’s War demanding a constituent assembly election.

2001: Crown Prince Dipendra reportedly kills the king, queen and himself and Gyanendra becomes king.

2005: Gyanendra seizes absolute power, declares war on Maoists.

2006: King forced to step down in April after Maoists and major parties lead a national uprising. Maoists declare end decade-old insurgency, government agrees to a Constituent Assembly election.

2007: Maoists join government in April. Constituent Assembly polls postponed twice, in June and November, due to unrest in Terai and Maoist opposition. Maoists quit the government calling for immediate end to monarchy.

December 2007: After a long Maoist siege, parliament proclaims Nepal a republic.

January 2008: Government names April 10 as new election date

February 2008: The rise of plains communities from the Terai. The government signs a deal with them to avert strikes and ensure a peaceful election.

April 10, 2008: Nepal holds historic election.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Politics |