NCP to field four candidates in Kerala

March 23rd, 2009 - 3:20 pm ICT by IANS  

Thiruvananthapuram, March 23 (IANS) The Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) will field four candidates in Kerala in the Lok Sabha elections.
NCP state president K. Muraleedharan, son of former chief minister and Congress leader K. Karunakaran, will contest from Wayanad, former minister M.P. Gangadharan from Thiruvananthapuram, Mani C. Kappen at Pathanamthitta and Razak Moulavi in Palakkad, he announced late Sunday.

Muraleedharan was the Kerala Congress president in 2003 after which he quit and joined the cabinet of then chief minister A.K. Antony in 2004. He resigned after loosing the Wadakkanchery assembly by-election.

The father-son duo left the Congress to float the Democratic Indira Congress in 2005. After the 2006 assembly elections, Muralidharan merged his new party into NCP.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Politics |