NCP retains all its Maharashtra ministers in first poll list

September 23rd, 2009 - 10:02 pm ICT by IANS  

Mumbai, Sep 23 (IANS) The Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) has retained all its state ministers in the first list of 80 candidates it released Wednesday for the Oct 13 Maharashtra assembly elections.
Contesting in alliance with the Congress, the NCP is fighting on 114 seats and the Congress on 174 in the 288-member assembly.

The second list of 34 candidates was likely to be announced late Wednesday or Thursday, a party office-bearer said here Wednesday evening. The last date for filing nominations is Friday.

Prominent among those in the NCP list are State party chief R.R. Patil (Tasgaon-Kauthe Mahankal), Deputy Chief Minister Chhagan Bhujbal (Yeola), and outgoing Assembly Speaker Babasaheb Kupekar (Chandgad).

Besides them, state ministers Jayant Patil (Islampur), Ajit Pawar (Baramati), Rajesh Tope (Ghand Savangi), Hasan Mushrif (Kagal), Dilip Walse-Patil (Ambegaon), Vijaysinh Mohite-Patil (Pandharpur) and Ms. Vimal Mundada (Kaij) figure in the list.

Rana Jagjitsinh Patil, son of the Osmanabad murder accused MP Padamsinh Patil who is currently in custody as prime accused in the killing of Congress leader Pawanraje Nimbalkar, has been fielded from the Osmanabad town assembly constituency.

He will be pitted in a keen contest with Omraje Nimbalkar, son of the killed leader, who is fighting on a Shiv Sena ticket.

Related Stories

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Politics |