NC-Congress sweep Jammu and Kashmir legislative council poll

March 7th, 2009 - 10:44 pm ICT by IANS  

Jammu, March 7 (IANS) Jammu and Kashmir’s ruling National Conference (NC)-Congress alliance won seven out of nine legislative council seats for which biennial elections were held here Saturday.
The opposition Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) and the National Panther’s Party (NPP) bagged one seat each in the upper house of the state legislature.

The NC won five seats and the Congress got two.

The NC winners are: former bureaucrat Vijay Bakaya, ex-home minister Khalid Najeeb Suharwardy, Showkat Hussain, Altaf Wani and Ajatshatru Singh.

Congress’s B.R. Kundal, also a former bureaucrat, and Jahangir Ahmad Mir, PDP’s Asgar Ali and NPP’s Syed Rafi Shah were declared winners by the returning officer.

Eleven seats had fallen vacant in the legislative council. Two candidates from Kargil and Leh, Agha Sayed Ahmed and Narboo Gyalchan, were declared elected unopposed.

The lone Bharatiya Janta Party (BJP) candidate, Shamsher Singh Manhas, lost though the party has 11 members in the state’s legislative assembly.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Politics |