NC-Congress leading in four Kashmir seats (Second Lead)

May 16th, 2009 - 4:17 pm ICT by IANS  

Bharatiya Janata Party Srinagar, May 16 (IANS) The National Conference-Congress combine was leading in four of the six Lok Sabha seats in Jammu and Kashmir till 2 p.m. Saturday.
NC leader Farooq Abdullah is leading in the Srinagar seat over his Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) rival Moulvi Ifftekhar Ansari by more than 32,000 votes.

In Baramulla, NC candidate Sharief-ud-din Shariq is leading by more than 26,000 votes over his PDP rival Dilawar Mir.

In Anantnag, NC’s Mirza Mehboob Baig is leading over the PDP’s Peer Mohammed Hussain with more than 4,000 votes.

Congress candidate Madan Lal Sharma was ahead of the Bharatiya Janata Party’s (BJP) Leela Karan Sharma by over 28,000 votes in Jammu while the Congress candidate in Udhampur, Chowdhary Lal Singh, was ahead of the BJP’s Nirmal Singh.

Trends were not available from Ladakh constituency.

The NC won the Sonawar assembly by-poll by 48 votes, while the Congress won the Baderwah assembly by-election by 463 votes.

Related Stories

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Politics |