NC-Congress combine sweeps Kashmir polls

May 16th, 2009 - 5:42 pm ICT by IANS  

Bharatiya Janata Party Srinagar, May 16 (IANS) The National Conference (NC)-Congress combine won five of the six Jammu and Kashmir Lok Sabha constituencies while an independent was leading in Ladakh.
NC president Farooq Abdullah was declared winner from Srinagar constituency after he defeated his closest rival Iftikhar Hussain Ansari, of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), by a margin of nearly 32,000 votes.

NC’s Mirza Mehboob Beg defeated PDP’s Peer Mohammed Hussain from south Kashmir Anantnag constituency by over 5,000 votes.

In north Kashmir Baramulla, NC’s Sharief Ud din Shariq won comfortably after bagging over 47,500 votes more than PDP’s Mohammed Dilawar Mir.

Lal Singh of the Congress defeated the Bharatiya Janata Party’s (BJP) Nirmal Singh in Udhampur by over 13,000 votes

Congress’ Madan Lal Sharma won from Jammu after defeating BJP’s Lila Karan Sharma by a huge margin of close to 120,000 votes.

Hassan Khan, an independent from Ladakh was leading over his closest rival Asgar Ali Karbalaie, also an independent, by over 7,500 votes till 4 p.m.

Related Stories

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Politics |