Naidu elected TDP leader in Andhra assembly

May 21st, 2009 - 4:21 pm ICT by IANS  

Hyderabad, May 21 (IANS) Telugu Desam Party (TDP) president N. Chandrababu Naidu was Thursday unanimously elected leader of the newly-elected legislators of the party in Andhra Pradesh assembly.
The TDP legislature party met at NTR Trust Bhavan, the party headquarters here, and elected Naidu as the leader. Senior leader P. Ashok Gajapati Raju proposed Naidu’s name while other leaders seconded it.

Naidu will be the leader of opposition in the state assembly for the second consecutive term.

In the just-concluded elections, TDP bagged 92 seats in 294-member assembly and won six out of 42 Lok Sabha seats in the state. Though it doubled its strength in the assembly, it failed to return to power despite an alliance with Telangana Rashtra Samiti (TRS) and the two Left parties.

The former chief minister asked his legislators to play the role of constructive opposition and strengthen the party. Raju, a former minister, said the party lost the elections due to “bad luck”.

The four party Grand Alliance-led by TDP polled 1.99 percent fewer votes than the Congress party, which retained power for the second consecutive term by winning 156 assembly seats.

However, the difference in votes polled by the two was as high as 5.03 percent in the Lok Sabha elections as the Congress bagged 33 seats.

Related Stories

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Politics |