Meena beats Bainsla, Congress’ Rajasthan tally is 20

May 17th, 2009 - 6:33 pm ICT by IANS  

Jaipur, May 17 (IANS) The Congress has won 20 Lok Sabha seats from Rajasthan, as central minister Namonarain Meena defeated Gujjar leader K.S. Bainsla of the BJP from the Tonk-Sawai Madhopur constituency after a recount Sunday.
Meena won by 317 votes. The result had been delayed as counting in the constituency was stopped Saturday after one of the electronic voting machines (EVMs) developed a snag.

The Bharatiya Janata party (BJP), however, sought a recount. “The BJP had sought a recount. We will take a decision in this regard soon,” an Election Commission official told IANS.

BJP’s Bainsla had led violent agitations in the state demanding tribal status for the Gujjars community, which is currently classified among the other backward classes (OBCs).

In the vote count Saturday, the Congress swept Rajasthan by winning 19 of the state’s 25 Lok Sabha seats and routing the opposition BJP.

In 2004, the Congress had won only four seats while the BJP had won 21 seats.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Politics |