Malawi begins swearing in of new parliament

June 2nd, 2009 - 1:00 am ICT by IANS  

Lilongwe (Malawi), June 1 (Xinhua) Malawi Monday began the swearing in process for its parliamentary members who emerged victorious in the May 19 polls.
The process will end Tuesday when all the 191 legislators would complete their oath of office before Chief Justice Lovemore Munlo. The Malawian parliament has 193 seats.

Elections in one of the constituencies did not take place, while a by-election will be held in another constituency that was won by Vice President Joyce Banda, who relinquished the seat as the country’s constitution does not allow a person to hold two public offices.

The legislators are required by law to take oath before they start their work in accordance with Section 52 of the Malawi Constitution.

The southeast African nation went to polls May 19 to elect a president and parliament members for the next five years. Incumbent President Bingu Wa Mutharika was overwhelmingly reelected for another five-year term with 2.9 million votes against his main challenger John Tembo, who got 1.3 million votes.

Related Stories

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Politics |