LJP releases list of 12 candidates from Bihar

March 24th, 2009 - 6:54 pm ICT by IANS  

Ram Vilas Paswan Patna, March 24 (IANS) The Lok Janshakti Party (LJP) Tuesday announced the names of 12 candidates from Bihar, with party chief Ram Vilas Paswan contesting from his traditional Hajipur seat in the April-May parliamentary elections.
The LJP is contesting 12 out of Bihar’s 40 Lok Sabha seats, with its ally Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) led by Railways Minister Lalu Prasad contesting the remaining 28. The party also announced three candidates from Jharkhand.

Announcing the candidates, Paswan said he would contest Hajipur (reserved) and his younger brother Ramchandra Paswan would contest from Samastipur (reserved) constituency. The party has fielded film-maker Prakash Jha, who joined the party recently, from West Champaran.

The party has nominated its Saharsa MP Ranjita Ranjan, wife of Rajesh Ranjan Yadav alias Pappu Yadav, from Supaul, as Saharsa has ceased to exist following delimitation.

Veena Devi, the wife of jailed Balia MP Suraj Bhan Singh, will be the party candidate from the Nawada seat. Singh was sentenced to life imprisonment last year for murder of a farmer in 1992 and is not eligible to contest himself. The Balia seat has also ceased to exist following delimitation.

Other LJP leaders nominated include state legislator Rama Singh from Arrah, Satish Kumar from Nalanda, Ashfaque Karim from Katihar, Bhagwan Lal Sahni from Muzaffarpur, Shankar Jha from Purnia and Zakir Anwar from Araria.

Related Stories

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Politics |