Legislator quits TDP to join Chiranjeevi’s party

October 5th, 2008 - 10:00 pm ICT by IANS  

Hyderabad, Oct 5 (IANS) Andhra Pradesh’s main opposition Telugu Desam Party (TDP) Sunday received yet another jolt when one of its legislators quit the party to join Telugu superstar Chiranjeevi’s Praja Rajyam Party (PRP).G. Srinivas Rao, who represents the Chodavaram assembly constituency in Visakhapatnam district, resigned from the TDP due to differences with party leaders in the district. He, however, said he had no differenced with TDP chief N. Chandrababu Naidu.

Rao said he would become a member of PRP before Chiranjeevi undertakes a visit of north coastal Andhra Pradesh.

Another TDP leader and former legislator from the Pendurti constituency of Visakhapatnam district G. Ganababu also announced his resignation from the party. He plans to join the PRP along with his followers.

Several leaders have deserted the TDP ever since Chiranjeevi launched his political party in August. They included former MP Bhuma Nagi Reddy and his wife and party general secretary Shoba Nagi Reddy. The couple has joined Chiranjeevi’s party.

Those who quit the TDP to join the PRP also include senior leader and Rajya Sabha member C. Ramchandraiah, former ministers T. Seetaram and Khaleel Basha.

Earlier, senior leader and former minister K. Vidyadhar Rao was expelled from the TDP for holding a meeting of Chiranjeevi’s close aides.

With Chiranjeevi all set to embark on state-wide yatra (tour) from Oct 9 and political parties gearing up for next year’s elections, more leaders are likely to quit the TDP to join the PRP.

The ruling Congress party has so far not witnessed any notable desertions except of MP Hariram Jogaiah.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Politics |