Left launches public campaign against PM, UPA

July 14th, 2008 - 3:43 pm ICT by IANS  

A file-photo of Manmohan Singh

New Delhi, July 14 (IANS) Determined to ensure that the Congress-led coalition government does not win the July 22 trust vote, the Communist Party of India-Marxist (CPI-M) Monday launched another scathing attack on Prime Minister Manmohan Singh and the ruling United Progressive Alliance (UPA). Drawing the battlelines for an open war at a public rally here, CPI-M general secretary Prakash Karat said: “The government had said it would win the trust vote before going to the IAEA (to finalise the India-specific safeguards agreement). But during the prime minister’s meeting with (US president George) Bush in Japan, he (Bush) told Manmohan Singh to expedite it as he was not going to be the president for long.”

Karat was referring to the government’s move to approach the International Atomic Energy Agency’s Board of Governors last week, hours after External Affairs Minister Pranab Mukherjee announced that the government would seek a trust vote before going to the global nuclear body.

The CPI-M-led Left parties, which had been propping the UPA, withdrew their legislative support last week protesting the government’s move to go ahead with the contentious India-US civil nuclear agreement.

Launching the Left’s public campaign against the nuclear deal and other policies of the UPA, Karat said they would do “everything to ensure that the nuclear deal does not get operationalised”. He also attacked the Samajwadi Party, which has now extended its support to the Congress-led government.

“The people who shared the platform on this issue against the government are now supporting the government. They will have to repent,” he warned.

Karat was also confident that more parties would join the Left to oppose the nuclear deal, which the Communists say would damage India’s independent foreign policy as well as its indigenous nuclear programme.

“More and more parties will join us in future,” Karat said.

The rally, held in the Constitution Club lawns, was also attended by CPI-M’s Sitaram Yechury and Brinda Karat, Communist Party of India’s A.B. Bardhan and D. Raja, Revolutionary Socialist Party’s T.J. Chandrachoodan and Abani Roy and Forward Bloc’s Debabrata Biswas.

Related Stories

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Politics |