Kerala’s Left Front fails to reach seat sharing agreement (Lead)

March 12th, 2009 - 6:54 pm ICT by IANS  

Thiruvananthapuram, March 12 (IANS) A meeting of the ruling Left Democratic Front (LDF) again ended here Thursday without the front partners agreeing on who among them will contest which Lok Sabha seats in the polls next month.
In the 2004 elections, the Communist Party of India-Marxist (CPI-M) contested 14 seats, the Communist Party of India (CPI) four and the Janata Dal-Secular (JD-S) and the Kerala Congress (Joseph) contested one seat each.

The Revolutionary Socialist Party, the Congress-S and the Nationalist Congress Party are also members of the ruling front.

CPI assistant secretary K.E. Ismail told reporters that the party will make its stand public Friday.

“We have to meet the other allies of the LDF and we will make our stand public at 11.30 a.m. tomorrow (Friday),” said Ismail.

Congress-S leader Kadanapally Ramachandran and Kerala Congress-J leader and Lok Sabha member P.C. Thomas held talks with the CPI leaders in an attempt to reach an agreement.

For the past two weeks, the LDF constituents have held many rounds of talks to finalise a seat sharing formula.

Polls to the 20 Lok Sabha seats from Kerala are to be held on April 16.

According to sources, the CPI-M is keen to contest Kozhikode seat in lieu of Wayanad seat. But JD-S has been contesting from Kozhikode since 1980 and does not want to give it up.

The CPI is also not keen to give up Ponnani seat which it has been contesting for years.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Politics |