Kashmir assembly by-polls on April 23, May 7

March 10th, 2009 - 8:42 pm ICT by IANS  

New Delhi, March 10 (IANS) By-polls to three assembly constituencies in Jammu and Kashmir will be held April 23 and May 7, the Election Commission said here Tuesday.
By-polls in the Hazratbal, Sonawar and Bhaderwah assembly constituencies were necessitated after National Conference’s Farooq Abdullah and Ghulam Nabi Azad of the Congress, who were elected from these seats, resigned after getting elected to the Rajya Sabha.

Abdullah, a former chief minister, was elected from both Hazratbal and Sonawar constituencies while Azad - also an ex chief minster - had won the Bhaderwah constituency in the November-December assembly polls.

The election in Bhaderwah in Jammu’s Doda district will be held April 23, while Srinagar’s Hazratbal and Sonawar constituencies will go for polls May 7, the Election Commission said in a statement.

The by-elections will have the same schedule as for the relevant parliamentary constituency, the Election Commission said.

The counting will be held May 16.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Politics |