Karnataka chief minister wins bypoll (Lead)

December 22nd, 2011 - 8:04 pm ICT by IANS  

Bharatiya Janata Party Bangalore, Dec 22 (IANS) Karnataka Chief Minister D.V. Sadananda Gowda was Thursday elected to the legislative council. The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) leader beat his Congress rival Anand Gaddadevaramath in a bypoll.

Gowda was a Lok Sabha member, and took over as chief minister Aug 4 from party colleague B.S. Yeddyurappa, who quit July 31 after the state Lokayukta named him in corruption charges.

Gowda had to become a member of the state legislative assembly or the legislative council within six months of assuming the chief minister’s office as required by the constitution.

Only assembly members, who constituted the electoral college for the council election, voted in the bypoll. The secret balloting started 9 a.m. and ended 4 p.m. Counting started at 5 p.m.

The assembly has 225 members, including a nominated member. The BJP has 120 members including the speaker, the Congress 71, the Janata Dal-Secular 26 and there are seven Independents, one of whom is a minister in the Gowda cabinet.

Related Stories

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Politics |