JPC members from Rajya Sabha to be named

March 1st, 2011 - 4:11 pm ICT by IANS  

Meira Kumar New Delhi, March 1 (IANS) The 10 Rajya Sabha members for the Joint Parliamentary Committee (JPC) to probe the spectrum scam and the telecom policy are to be announced Tuesday.Their nomination will complete the JPC, which has 20 Lok Sabha members.

The Rajya Sabha representatives in the JPC are likely to be P.J. Kurien, Abhishek Manu Singhvi and Praveen Rashtrapal (Congress), Tiruchi Siva (DMK), Yogendra P. Trivedi (NCP), S.S. Ahluwalia and Ravi Shankar Prasad (BJP), Ramchandra Prasad Singh (JD-U), Satish Chandra Misra (BSP) and Sitaram Yechury (CPI-M).

The Lok Sabha nominated 20 members to the committee last week.

After the Rajya Sabha adopts the motion to constitute the committee, a chairperson will be nominated by Lok Sabha Speaker Meira Kumar.

The JPC will examine, among other things, the policy pursued by successive governments in the allocation and pricing of telecom licences and spectrum from 1998 to 2009.

Related Stories

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Politics |