JD-U, BJP leading in Bihar

May 16th, 2009 - 12:34 pm ICT by IANS  

Bharatiya Janata Party Patna, May 16 (IANS) The Janata Dal-United (JD-U) and Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) combine was leading in 27 of Bihar’s 40 parliamentary seats as counting of votes cast for the Lok Sabha elections was underway Saturday, poll officials said.
Counting began simultaneously at 8 a.m. in all district headquarters. By 10 a.m., the JD-U and its alliance partner BJP were leading in 27 seats, the Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) was leading in five, and the Lok Janshakti Party (LJP) and Congress in one each.

RJD chief and Railway Minister Lalu Prasad was leading in both Saran and Pataliputra Lok Sabha constituencies.

LJP chief and Steel Minister Ram Vilas Paswan was trailing behind Ram Sundar Das of the JD-U in Hajipur constituency.

Veteran Socialist leader George Fernandes, who is contesting as an independent after the JD-U refused to nominate him, was also trailing behind Jai Narayan Nishad of the JD-U in Muzaffarpur.

Congress’s Meira Kumar was trailing by a small margin in Sasaram constituency. TV star and Congress candidate from Patna Saheb Shekhar Suman was trailing behind the BJP’s Shatrughan Sinha.

The BJP’s Syed Shahnawaz Hussain was leading in Bhagalpur, while his party colleague Raghuvansh Prasad Singh was leading in Vaishali.

Related Stories

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Politics |