Jairam Ramesh, five others elected unopposed to Rajya Sabha

June 7th, 2010 - 5:06 pm ICT by IANS  

Hyderabad, June 7 (IANS) Union Minister of State for Environment Jairam Ramesh, former Andhra Pradesh chief minister Nedurumalli Janardhan Reddy and four others were Monday elected unopposed to Rajya Sabha from the state.
With the deadline for withdrawal of nominations coming to an end Monday and none of the six candidates withdrawing their nominations, legislature secretary and returning officer S. Rajasadaram declared them elected unopposed.

The nominations of all the candidates were Saturday found in order during the scrutiny. As only six candidates filed their papers for as many seats, their election was a mere formality.

Jairam Ramesh, Janardhan Reddy, veteran leader V. Hanumantha Rao and former bureaucrat J.D. Seelam of the ruling Congress party were re-elected to the upper house for the second consecutive term.

Industrialist Y. Sujana Chowdary and G. Sudharani of main opposition Telugu Desam Party (TDP) were elected for the first time.

Five Rajya Sabha members from Congress and one from CPI-M retired this month. The elections were scheduled to be held June 14.

Related Stories

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Politics |