Independent legislator withdraws support to Karnataka BJP government

June 22nd, 2009 - 10:26 pm ICT by IANS  

Bharatiya Janata Party Bangalore, June 22 (IANS) An Independent legislator Monday withdrew support to the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) government in Karnataka but there was no threat to the B.S. Yeddyurappa ministry’s survival.
K. Varthur Prakash, a Congress rebel who won as Independent from Kolar in the May 2008 assembly polls, was one of the six unattached legislators who helped BJP to come to power for the first time in Karnataka and south last year.

The BJP had won 110 seats in the 225-member assembly (including one nominated member) and formed the government headed by Yeddyurappa with the support of these six legislators.

The BJP now has 114 members of its own, besides the support of the five other Independents who were all rewarded with cabinet posts.

Prakash told IANS that he submitted a letter to Speaker Jagadish Shettar Monday withdrawing support to the government.

Prakash was sacked as head of the Karnataka Urban Water Supply and Sewage Board June 16 because of his frequent attacks on the Yeddyurappa ministry and the BJP.

Related Stories

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Politics |