Hurriyat groups reconstitute co-ordination panel

August 20th, 2008 - 6:38 pm ICT by IANS  

Srinagar, Aug 20 (IANS) In a significant development, the two groups of the separatist Hurriyat conference have decided to re-constitute their recently formed co-ordination committee.After a three-hour long meeting of its executive committee, the moderate Hurriyat group Wednesday decided to recall two of its senior leaders, Shabir Ahmad Shah and Nayeem Khan, from the co-ordination committee formed recently to handle the unity moves between the two Hurriyat groups and to announce joint programmes.

Shabir Ahmad Shah, the chairman of the Democratic Freedom Party is a senior executive member of Mirwaiz Umer Farooq’s moderate Hurriyat group.

Nayeem Khan, the chairman of the National Front, is also a senior Hurriyat leader of the Mirwaiz group.

Khan is also the provincial president of the moderate Hurriyat.

“We were told that we have not succeeded in handling the co-ordination between the two Hurriyat groups properly,” Khan told IANS while commenting on his recall from the from the co-ordination committee.

The reconstituted co-ordination committee announced here Wednesday includes senior separatist leader Syed Ali Geelani and Mirwaiz Umer Farooq, who will jointly head the new committee.

Other members of the committee are Masarat Alam and Muhammad Shafi Rishi of the Geelani Hurriyat group and Gulam Muhammad Hubbi and Gulam Muhammad Bhat of the Mirwaiz group.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Politics |