Goa re-elects sitting MPs, albeit with depleted margins

May 16th, 2009 - 3:14 pm ICT by IANS  

Bharatiya Janata Party Panaji, May 16 (IANS) Goa re-elected both its sitting MPs with the Congress and the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) winning one each of the two Lok Sabha seats in the state.
The common characteristic in the victories of both the candidates - Shripad Naik (BJP) and Francisco Sardinha (Congress) - were their massively depleted margins as compared to their last wins.

Naik won the North Goa seat with a margin of 6,471 votes, a startling drop from the massive margin of nearly 58,000 votes in the 2004 elections. Sardinha, who was elected to parliament from South Goa during the 2007 by-poll, has retained his seat with a lead of 12,516, a far cry from his earlier margin of 40,902 votes.

While Naik’s rival Jitendra Deshprabhu (NCP) has already conceded defeat, a technical snag in one electronic voting machine (EVM), which has 462 votes clocked in, has kept the Election Commission from officially declaring the results of the North Goa constituency.

Naik polled 131,775 votes and Deshprabhu got 125,304. The detailed break-up of votes polled as per assembly segments will be available only by evening, election officials said.

Speaking to reporters, Deshprabhu said the contest with Naik was a healthy contest. “It was a good fight. I am grateful for all the Congress workers and leaders who supported me. I will introspect and see where I went wrong.”

Chief minister Digambar Kamat described the Congress victory in South Goa as a “victory of Congress party policies”.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Politics |