From marginal to mammoth wins, Bengal polls saw it all

May 15th, 2011 - 12:29 am ICT by IANS  

Kolkata, May 14 (IANS) From a thumping victory to just making it past the post, the margins of victories in the West Bengal polls had it all.

Among the 294 winning candidates, five managed to oust their opponents by less than 500 votes.

In Mangolkote constituency, Communist Party of India-Marxist (CPI-M) candidate Sahajahan Choudhury defeated his opponent from the Trinamool Congress by a margin of just 126 votes.

In Raipur of Bankura and Pandua of Hooghly district, CPI-M candidates Upen Kisku and S.K. Amjad Hossain defeated Trinamool nominees Pramila Murmu and Nargis Begum by 182 votes and 397 votes respectively.

On the other hand, Trinamool candidates Banamali Hazra and Hiten Barman got the better of their rivals by 298 and 257 votes respectively.

Five other candidates also won by a margin of less than 1,000 votes.

The candidates who scored overwhelming victories include Gorkha Janamukti Morcha candidate Trilok Dewan from Kurseong, who won by a margin of 106,555 votes, followed by his party colleague Harka Bahudur Chhetri from Kalimpong, who finished ahead of his nearest rival by 101,675 votes.

Among the battle hardened politicians, Trinamool Congress leader Partha Chatterjee defeated his opponent from CPI-M with a margin of 59,021 votes in Behala West assembly constituency.

Related Stories

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Politics |